Welcome to the FOTC Armidale Website


The Armidale Teachers’ College, recently known as the C.B. Newling Centre, is an impressive building which stands in magnificent formal grounds.
The building dates from 1929 and internally features two impressive stained-glass windows, an auditorium, gymnasium, a unique library stack and a War Memorial room. Portraits of former principals and early senior staff hang above the steps and on the first floor foyer.
A World War Two Honour Board and a digitised facsimile copy of the Book of Remembrance dedicated to the sixty-seven College graduates killed in World War Two have been donated by the Friends of the Old Teachers’ College.
The Friends was established in 1997 in response to a decision by the Acting Vice-Chancellor of the University of New England (after amalgamation of the two institutions) to ‘mothball’ the building. The Friends is a non-profit organisation which continues to restore, conserve and encourage community use of the building and gardens.

Welcome to Friends of The Teachers College

The Armidale Teachers’ College, recently known as the C.B. Newling Centre, is an impressive building which stands in magnificent formal grounds. The building dates from 1929 and internally features two impressive stained-glass windows, an auditorium, gymnasium, a unique library stack and a War Memorial room. Portraits of former principals and early senior staff hang above […]

Read More